Books and Literature

For Readers with Vision Disabilities

  • Colorado Talking Book Library – A free service to Coloradans of all ages who are unable to read standard print material due to visual, physical or learning disabilities. CTBL provides audio, Braille and large-print books and magazines.
  • That All May Read – The National Library Service administers a free library program of braille and audio materials circulated to eligible borrowers in the U.S. by postage-free mail.
  • Bookshare – The world’s largest collection of accessible titles. A free or low cost option for students and anyone who cannot read  print books because of a visual impairment, physical disability or severe learning disability.

Book News and Reviews

Lists of Bestsellers

Award-winning Books

Book Awards – United States

  • Colorado Book Awards – Administered annually by the Colorado Center for the Book, honoring Colorado authors writing in a variety of categories.
  • Edgar Award – Awarded by the Mystery Writers of America to honor the best fiction and nonfiction mystery writing.
  • National Book Award – Five-member panels select the highest achievement in United States writing – Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Fiction.
  • National Book Critics Award – Awards from the best books and best reviews published in English.
  • Romance Writers of America RITA Award – Awarded annually by a panel of members of the Romance Writers of America.
  • Spur Award – Awarded annually by the Western Writers of America for distinguished writing about the American West.

International Awards

  • Governor General’s Literary Awards – From the Canadian Council for the Arts, awarded to Canadian literature in 14 different categories.
  • The Man Booker Prize – Highlighting the best novel of the year, written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland.
  • Nobel Prize in Literature – International award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden.
  • Pulitzer Prize – Awarded at Columbia University each May for achievement in Fiction, Biography, Nonfiction, History, and Poetry.